Per new regulatory rules, providers will not be given additional reporting and upload time. Licensees taking courses after December 21st of the calendar year, may be subject to a cancelled license and will be assessed a $1,000 (new regulation) fine from KREC. There are no exceptions. We are advising all licensees to complete all required education prior to December 21st to ensure you will be reported before December 31st.
Per KRS 324.046, Licensees have to complete twelve (12) hours of continuing education each biennial license period. Six (6) of the twelve (12) hours must be in KREC-approved law courses. Six (6) hours MUST be completed by December 31st of the first year of the renewal period, three (3) of which must be in law. Licensees who take more than six (6) hours during the first year of the renewal period CAN use those excess hours towards the second year in the renewal period. Example: A licensee takes Core and an ethics course in 2020, totaling nine (9) hours of education in 2020. The licensee only has to complete three (3) hours of CE in 2021 to comply. This provision went into effect January 1, 2020.
The courses must be sponsored or approved by the Kentucky Real Estate Commission (KREC). Kentucky requires a state specific continuing education course (the Kentucky Core Course) to be completed by all active licensees subject to continuing education once every four years. Visit the KREC website for more information or check your education status through the Kentucky Real Estate Commission Database. KRI offers a wide variety of online courses to complete your CE. Click on the catalog button above to see our offerings.
As of January 1, 2016, an individual obtaining their first, original Kentucky license is exempt for the first two (2) calendar years only, regardless of whether the license is issued in February or November. PLE is required during those two years. KRI offers online courses to complete your PLE requirements. Click here to view the PLE page, you will find a catalog with a list of courses, as well as a 48 Hour PLE Package. Per Kentucky law, students are not allowed to complete more than 9 hours of Pre-Licensing and Post-Licensing coursework per day. It's the students responsibility to track their hours. Please contact KRI with any questions.
REALTOR® Member Requirements - REALTOR® Code of Ethics
As of January 1, 2017, the Code of Ethics training requirements are now two year cycles. A new two-year cycle began January 1, 2019. The deadline for this cycle is December 31, 2020.
If attending a live classroom course does not fit your schedule, Kentucky REALTOR® Institute offers online education options as an alternative. These courses are available to give you the ability to take courses on your schedule at your own pace, anytime and anywhere. Jump online, instead of in your car and take time out of your schedule to complete your CE. Education has never been this convenient! View the online catalog at the top of the page to see our variety of online courses.
Please keep in mind, you must complete and successfully pass a final exam for any online course you take. This is a requirement for every course for every provider. If you do not pass the final exam, you will not receive credit for the course.
Attention: you will be required to provide your license number when registering for an online course. If you don’t know your license number, you can find it here
Please check your license number to make sure it is correct. The number you provide is the number that will be reported to KREC.
Kentucky REALTOR® Institute has 10 business days (except after December 21st) from the date of class to report education credits to KREC.You can look up your education credits and license status online through the Kentucky Real Estate Commission Database.
*By registering for any of the classroom courses, you acknowledge and agree to the terms and conditions outlined in KRI's Policies and Procedures.